So holy shit..it has been God damn FOREVER since my last update..not from a lack of shit to write about, but from a lack of GOOD shit to write about. Let's see if I remember how to do this..
Ok, so! Since the first fire of the Slayer, I've had carb issues..I could never get my carb to perform properly. I started with a mikuni that came with the bike, the damn thing ran great going down the road, but wouldn't idle worth a shit..no vacuum leaks anywhere, running rich at idle, but would sneeze like it was lean. WTF!? Ok, fuck this, I've had that carb apart a million times trying to figure out the issue, time to swap it out.
My good friend and confidant, Timmo, has a stock Bendix that needs a rebuild and some love, I'll take it. (thanks brother!) I rebuild the Bendix under the close supervision of Timmo (so I don't fuck anything up), and slap that thing on. My carb issues are over! Wrong. Same damn problem. Runs great down the road, won't idle for shit, sneezes out the carb, and dies. What. The. Hell. Like the mikuni, I took the Bendix apart a shit ton of times, manifold on and off, nothing..Papa and I went by the book as far as adjusting..I made more phone calls than I can count..at this point, I'm frustrated as shit.
One evening, I'm bitching and describing my issues to Pretty Eyes, and out of the kindness of his heart, he offers to loan me his super b. Holy hell, what a guy! I accepted his offer and thought, "Fuck yeah, this oughta do it!" He dropped off the s+s the next day and I slapped it on that night. Moment of truth....one kick, roars to life. Shit, that's a good sign! I do some adjusting, trying to get the idle down where its supposed to be, ah-choo! She sneezes out and dies...ok, maybe its not warmed up all the way..I take a couple laps around the neighborhood and try again. Not happening. I'm having the SAME DAMN PROBLEM with three different carbs! How can this be? Its a goddamn mystery of modern science. I wanna die. I slapped the Bendix back on and said fuck it.
Thursday comes and Pat and I ride to Dave Almighty's house with a couple of brain busting issues. Pat's strange ass chain slap issue, and my 3 carbs deep idle issue. The Kafton will know. The Kafton ALWAYS knows. I hung out for a couple hours, drank a couple of tall cans and watched Pat and Dave tinker and try to diagnose a problem which ended up being DEEP in Pat's transmission. Pat has been DYING for a good reason to pull his tranny again. Full rebuild, coming right up! Anyways, his shit is figured out, I'm up..it had gotten late and I didn't really want to make The Great Wizard work any later than he already had, but he cast a spell on me and forced me to pull up my bike. I described the issue and he had me start the Slayer, he asked for a screwdriver. I handed him one and he quickly went to work, for hours he slaved away tirelessly on my bike, cursing the day it was built..ok, not really..it took him about 15 seconds to find and fix my problem. One quarter turn richer. Are you kidding me?! It took him mere seconds to negate the work I had done in the weeks and days prior. I didn't see a wand, but I'm sure there was some form of sorcery involved. Shit man..
With all said and done, I am VERY happy with the Bendix, accelerator pumps are AWESOME. Thank you very much, Timmo, for the carb (I owe you!), thank you Papa for the help and listening to me complain, and thank you Dave for making me look like a real dumbass! Not only does the Slayer rip ass going down the road, thanks to Mr. Kafton, she now also idles nice and low! I'm stoked!
•End transmission•
Wednesday, April 24, 2013
Carburetor hijinks!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment