Sunday, January 13, 2013

Shovelhead update!

   Well, well, well...tis been a fortnight since my last post.. Call it me being busy, or me being lazy, yes..let's call it me being lazy.. I haven't done much during this month-long chopper dry spell. I've THOUGHT about choppering a whole bunch! But yeah...there has been a major lapse..sorry folks.
   Anyhow, I'm sure I'm gonna catch heat for this, but...there was a last minute invite from Papa to head out to the shop to work on the shovel. I couldn't turn that shit down!! Sorry, shopnight brothers! Get mad at Jamey. Try to kick his ass if you like...(wear a helmet.)
   So yeah..Thursday, I headed out to the shop and put in some serious work..I completed a major laundry list, getting me closer to my ultimate goal: WHEELIES! Well,  mainly just starting my bike..
   First off, before I worked on the shovel, I got to help Papa work on his flathead for a bit. I felt privileged to do so. For a guy who helps me out as much as he does, it feels awesome to actually return the favor. We swapped his frontend, and slapped his new wheels and tires on. Only took a few minutes, but I'm glad to help. You're welcome Jamey, now YOU owe ME!
   On to the shovel! I put my cutting and welding skills to work, finishing my exhaust. I had to bring my rear pipe in a bit closer to the oil bag, which meant taking out some material before the bend. I made it so. While the cut off wheel was out, I made a set of kick out tips from a fucked up "u" pipe my buddy gave me..they look a bit grimey, but hey..so do I. I welded those fuckers on, and BANG BANG! The exhaust is done. I just need to weld a tab on the frame for support. Next time.
  Next, we re-tapped the drain plug on my tranny, as the threads were south of cheese...well, Glen-Bob did it..I watched.. He did it up right good, and I commenced with the putting on of the ratchet top, that George "oh daaaamn dude!" Perry, was kind enough to fix for me. Thanks Holmes! New gasket and screw set, fuck yeah. She sealed up nice, and I bolted her back in the bike.
   Then!! I pulled my oil bag to get it prepped for fresh oil and a FRESH MOTOR! Jamey fired up the pressure washer and set the heating element to KILL! I blasted the inside of the bag and flushed out all of the shit that's been collecting since God knows when.. Put some air to it, drying out the insides, and bolted it back on the bike. Again, fuck yeah.
   Lastly, low on time and freezing our asses off, we started installing the brand spankin new belt drive! Good trade, Papa! Patrice and Papa proceeded to fuck about, removing the stupid ass compensator something or other from the crank..that was REALLY on there. They emerged victorious, and Papa installed the front pulley. That's what I'm talking about. Teamwork. After a few brain farts, I started putting my final drive sprocket on, and we realized that we didn't have the socket to zip the nut down. Boo. Dead in the water.
   I made a shit ton of progress, it may have made up for the long layover. I'm pretty sure Jamey invited me to the shop because, he got tired of seeing my puppy dog eyes whenever we talked about the shovelhead or shopnight. Did I guilt him into letting me get my work on? Fuck...probably. You be the judge.
   So, after all was said and done, Thursday turned out pretty swell. I feel like it was thoroughly mixed for Mike Riot! I got to see some good friends, and got to do some choppering. That'll work!
•End transmission•

No comments:

Post a Comment