Monday, May 13, 2013

Alice's restaurant!

   So! This past weekend, as in, one week ago (I'm lagging, I know..), I hit up a couple of the homeboys for a Sunday ride. All of the Stockton/Lodi crew were either busy or had more important shit to do, you Bastards! George, Willie, Mike, and his wife Anna were down to ride, let's roll!
   Sunday morning we met at George's in Manteca around 9ish. I had no real idea where we were headed, I just knew it was called Alice's. Whatever, I'm down! After a bit of bullshitting and catching up, we hit the road.
   120 to the 205, we were bay area bound. Willie set a nice pace and we cruised, low and slow, pretty nice! I mean...not like, 'getting the middle finger' slow, but just cruising. Perfect. The sun was out, not super windy, definitely ideal riding weather, fuck yeah! We made our way to the 580 and were zipping along nicely and we stumble upon wet asphalt..oh shit. The dark, nasty, motorcycle hating clouds had rolled in and it was starting to rain. What the hell.. Luckily, we were approaching a gas stop in Castro Valley. Those goddamn rain drops don't feel very awesome on the freeway, quite the contrary. They sting like a sumbitch.
   We gassed up and huddled under a tree as the rain came and went. Only a few minutes and we decided on coffee at the local Starbucks. Right up the street, caffeinate! The skies cleared up as we downed our drinks. Let's hit it. Back on the 580, San Mateo bridge, coming right up. If you've never been, the bridge is fuckin AWESOME. I've never been across it in a car, but on the bikes...holy shit.
   After the bridge, we hopped on the 280 (I'm guessing here..), which led us to 84 (once again, guessing). Pretty cool stretch that took us through a bunch of curvy roads and what seemed to be the damn forest. Complete change of scenery. I like. After a couple of miles of some serious corners, which are fun as shit on the Slayer, we came upon our destination. Alice's Restaurant in Woodside, CA. Like an oasis in the middle of the forest. Right on!
   Outside the restaurant, there was a SHIT TON of bikes. Apparently, we weren't the only ones with the good idea. Before we made our way in, we met a nice gentleman named Kenneth who happens to to REALLY like self portraits and pictures of buff ass naked dudes. Whatever. We moseyed around back to the bar where we ordered drinks and lunch. We ate and drank, and were lucky enough to bump into Kenneth again, who ended up paying George a dollar for 'something'. Again, whatever..
   We headed back out front and poked around for a few, looking at bikes and talking shit. Not about the bikes...just in general. The crew saddled up and we rode down to the gas station. Last gas stop. George and Willie thought it would be a good idea to ride all the way back to Manteca with no more stops. Fuck it, let's go..I was pretty sure I'd run outta gas, but let's find out I suppose.
   Back on the freeway, across the bridge, up and over the Altamont, and on into Tracy...George keeps waving off my attempts at a gas stop, calling me a pussy and laughing. Fuck it! We kept on and I kept my eye on my gas filter, expecting to see it run dry. Mossdale came and went, Manteca: dead ahead! We exited the 120 and pulled into a gas station. Holy shit, we really did make it! 78 miles. One tank.
   We filled up and headed for our last stop, The Rusty Hook. A local watering hole in Manteca. We each had a drink and said our goodbyes. Our 200 some odd mile journey had come to an end. I followed George home to swap a taillight bulb, and was asked to join him and his wife Melissa at dinner. Well, fuckin a! I like food.
   Again, we ate and drank and talked more shit, I have a tendency of doing that. Mealtime ended and we headed back to the Perry's. Tired as shit, I said my goodbyes and thank yous. I stomped the Slayer to life and hit the road. Stockton bound. Short trip.
   The ride to Alice's was a GOOD one and I hope to do it again soon.. It was fun as shit hanging out with the Manteca friends, like always. We put on some pretty decent miles and didn't get too beat up in the process. Sweet. Also, some of the pictures were taken by George and Anna. Enjoy.
•End transmission•

No comments:

Post a Comment