Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Shovelhead update! And video snippet!

   Holy mother of fucker! This Thursday was awesome. I FINALLY got to ride the shovel! Tim and I did a bit of tooling around and got this beast in a ridable state. Seems as if the carb is pretty dialed. Thanks Tim!!
   Timmo RE-jetted the carb. Again. Worked a bit of magic...I think I saw him sprinkle some pixie dust into the bowl..he also set the floats properly so my bike doesn't make pee-pee all over the shop floor. What a guy.
   While Tim was busy making magic happen, I dialed my brake switch in just right..now the brake light turns ON when you hit the pedal, and OFF when you let go. I'm pretty sure that's how it's supposed to work. Sweet.
   With these minor hurdles down, it was time to RIDE! Fired her up, set the idle and mixture close to proper, and Yayerrr!!! I took her down the street! Short shifts and low rpm's, as directed by Mr. Dave Kafton. Never having ridden a rigid before, I was a bit terrified of the ride, not bad at all! It felt goddamn AWESOME! Finally. Holy shit.
   So...I have a few more kinks to work out, mainly paint and polish etc..but she's ready to ride. Thanks to all of the buddies for getting me to this point. Now it's up to me to fuck it up...er...finish it up. Check out the link below, just a small clip of the shovel idling. The photos were taken by Timmo, enjoy.
•End transmission•

Watch "fafmoto shovelhead!" on YouTube

No comments:

Post a Comment