Monday, September 17, 2012

Billetproof 2012: part two.

Part two: perseverance.
   The day wears on. The God forsaken sun staring down menacingly from high above, punishing foreheads, backs of necks, and my will to walk around in this hell. This hell of sweltering heat, sweat, and beer breath.
   Around noon. Time to start the barbecue. I'm pretty sure the Tri tips would cook just sitting in the sun. Nonetheless, we fire it up and on goes the meat. After all, a nigga gotsta eat. While we waited for shit to cook, we passed the time with shit talking, gay jokes, and grab ass. As per usual. I'm pretty good at all three.
   After sampling a few appetizers from the grill, Dave, Chris, and myself decided that sitting and sweating our asses off was semi retarded. So, we went in search of shade, and low and behold, we found some! Picnic benches. In the shade. Awesome. We took shelter for a while and honed our people watching skills.
   Ready to abandon our oasis and brave the heat again, we made our way through the rows of badass cars and found a few guys selling chopper parts. None of which we bought. Fun to look however. Head back to the truck, eat me some tri tip, make more lame jokes. Check.
   Back at base camp, we huddled in the shadows of the vehicles, as that was the only source of shade.  We drank a bit more, dehydration is the real killer in these survival type situations. Hung out with Marty,  Timmo and the boys, then rumors of us leaving soon started floating around. Time for one last pass around the show.
   Saying our goodbyes, Chris and I got to witness Brian Berry from the dead end cruisers do a very nice standing burnout on his shovelhead. Up until he was stopped by event staff and a pudgy little policeman. Whatever.
   Let's hit the road. Its still pretty early, I think the delta loop is in our immediate future. Anyone feel like a cruise down 160?
To be continued..
End transmission•








No comments:

Post a Comment